Procrastination

I’m supposed to be packing my belongings ready to move out of my flat this week! I got on well with the first load to be moved the week before but have been lacking a little motivation recently…

I’ve been silly busy at work and even managed to do better than expected in my Social Media Marketing exam which, with hindsight, was timed badly with everything else going on. This has all left me a bit do-less so in order to combat that I’ve decided to do things that I enjoy doing rather than things I’m meant to. This quite possibly could be a mistake as I’m now almost devoid of energy and know that I’m going to have to push myself to get through the ordeal of moving.

Created with Nokia Smart Cam
Created with Nokia Smart Cam
Created with Nokia Smart Cam
Created with Nokia Smart Cam

This mistake is not one I regret, however, I’ve been catching up with old friends – some of whom I haven’t seen for years. It’s a shame that life just gets in the way sometimes. Yesterday I decided I needed to clear my head in order to pack properly (The best justification I could come up with!). Off I went again on the bus to experience the delights of Haldon Forest by horseback again. No deer this time, instead some big buzzards, the odd squirrel, red admirals, common heath, common blue and tortoiseshell butterflies.

Created with Nokia Smart Cam
Created with Nokia Smart Cam
Created with Nokia Smart Cam
Created with Nokia Smart Cam
Created with Nokia Smart Cam
Created with Nokia Smart Cam

The last few forlorn bluebells were doing their best to get noticed amongst the other vegetation but this time the forest was awash with pink foxgloves.

Created with Nokia Smart Cam
Created with Nokia Smart Cam

Unfortunately the photos from my phone don’t do the sea of pink justice and my sixteen hand plus steed was eager to get going rather than take in the vista as I faffed about with technology.

Created with Nokia Smart Cam
Created with Nokia Smart Cam

After brushing down Woody and turning her out, I strolled back to the bus, hot and happy.  Enjoying the sight of a speckled wood butterfly flitting around and, from a distance, what looked like a little brambling. I was then extremely lucky to witness a hummingbird hawk moth feeding on valerian with its huge proboscis. Fascinating.

Created with Nokia Smart Cam
Created with Nokia Smart Cam

I did some packing and shifting when I got home but had completely over done it by teatime. And, my excuse for procrastinating today? I did my back in lifting heavy boxes! At least I’m being productive – I’ve just joined SCWBI: Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators. Member-badges

One thought on “Procrastination

Leave a Reply

